Frog Nervous System Short Notes | Free Biology Notes

Frog Nervous System Short Notes

In this article we will discuss about the frog nervous system

Frog Nervous System

  • The set of organs which control and coordinate all the activities of the body is called the nervous system
  • The frog nervous system composed of CNS, PNS and ANS

Central nervous system

  • CNS is made up of brain & spinal cord
  • CNS controls most functions of the body


  • The brain is protected in the brain case or cranium
  • It is surrounded by two meninges
  • Inner cavities of brain are filled with cerebrospinal fluid
  • Cerebrospinal fluid is a clear, watery and lymphatic fluid. It protects and nourishes the brain
  • Brain has three parts which are called fore brain, mid brain and hind brain

Fore Brain

  • The most anterior region comprises the olfactory lobes
  • Olfactory lobes are concerned with sense of smell
  • Immediately behind the olfactory lobes, there are two large outgrowths called the cerebral hemispheres
  • Hemispheres are place of memory, intelligence, consciousness


  • Posterior to the cerebral hemispheres are called optic lobes
  • The part between the optic lobes and hemispheres is known as the diencephalon
  • This part is associated with the eyes and vision.

Hind Brain

  • The last part of the brain consists of the cerebellum and the medulla oblongata.
  • This part controls and coordinates body movements and maintains balance of the body
  • The medulla oblongata also controls respiration. circulation and digestion

Spinal Cord

  • The spinal cord starts from the posterior end of the medulla oblongata like a thick thread
  • Spinal cord are not solid, which is filled with a fluid
  • The spinal cord controls the movement of the trunk area and many other functions independently

Peripheral nervous system

  • Peripheral nervous system consists of nerves, which connect the central nervous system with various parts of the body
  • They are of two types:
    1. Cranial nervous: nerves originating from brain are called cranial nerves. In frog. There are ten pairs of cranial nerves.
    2. Spinal nerves: nerves originating from spinal cord are called spinal nerves. There are nine or ten pairs of spinal nerves.
  • Nerves are of following types:
    • Sensory nerves: these nerves take messages from sensory organs to central nervous system.
    • Motor nerves: these nerves take messages from central nervous system to glands and muscles.
    • Mixed nerves: they carry out both the above mentioned functions.

Autonomous nervous system

  • This controls the autonomous parts (automatic) of the body
  • This system control the autonomic parts of the body like heart, lungs & intestine
  • Two type of nerves are present in it.
  • Sympathetic nerve : it increase the rate of autonomous organs.
  • Parasympathetic nerve : it decrease the rate of autonomous organs.

You may also like: –

For more detailed information about Structural Organisation in Animals, download now full study material as PDF and if you want to learn more detailed information about Structural Organisation in Animals, visit YouTube Channel.

Leave a Comment